IN PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA
In the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, a person may be charged with assault crimes for inflicting or attempting to cause physical injury to another person. Such offenses include simple assault and aggravated assault. According to statistics from the FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, there were 39,228 reported cases of violent crimes in Pennsylvania, including about 24,465 incidents of aggravated assault in 2019. Depending on the surrounding circumstances, as well as the severity of the injuries inflicted, the offender may face severe penalties, including substantial fines and a lengthy prison sentence.
If you have been arrested and charged with assault, retaining a skilled and aggressive CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY as soon as possible is crucial to outline your defense strategy. At Marc V. Taiani, Esquire and Allegheny Attorneys at Law, P.C., I provide knowledgeable legal guidance and strong representation to clients facing assault charges. As your attorney, I can evaluate and investigate the circumstances surrounding your unique situation, determine the best legal defenses to fight your allegations, and pursue a favorable outcome for your case.
My firm, Marc V. Taiani, Esquire and Allegheny Attorneys At Law, P.C., is proud to serve clients throughout Pittsburgh, Fox Chapel, Ross Township, Aspinwall, Shaler Township, and Penn Hills, Pennsylvania.
ASSAULT CHARGES IN PENNSYLVANIA
Under Pennsylvania law, an assault occurs when a person gets involved in a physical altercation, inflicts (or attempts to inflict) a bodily injury on another person, or puts the person in fear of potential harm or danger. Assault can be classified into simple assault and aggravated assault.
According to Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes Title 18 Section 2701, a person commits the offense of "simple assault" when they:
Attempt to cause or intentionally or recklessly cause bodily injury to another person
Negligently cause bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon
Attempt (by physical menace) to make someone fearful of imminent bodily injury
Intentionally or knowingly penetrate a law enforcement officer using a hypodermic needle
Depending on the surrounding circumstances, simple assault may be charged as a first-, second-, or third-degree misdemeanor. Possible penalties for different degrees of simple assault are as follows:
Second-degree assault: Simple assault is typically a second-degree misdemeanor, and is punishable by up to two years in jail and a fine of $5,000.
Third-degree assault: If an injury occurred in a fight or scuffle entered into by mutual consent, the crime is punishable by six months to one year in prison and a fine of up to $2,500.
First-degree assault: If the assault is against a child under 12 years of age by a person 18 years of age or older, it is punishable by two-and-half to five years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
According to Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes Title 18 Section 2702, a person may be guilty of "aggravated assault" if they:
Attempt to cause serious bodily injury to another, or cause an injury intentionally or recklessly without value for human life
Intentionally cause or attempt to cause serious bodily injury to an officer while in the performance of duty
Intentionally cause or attempts to cause bodily injury to another person with a deadly weapon
Intentionally cause or attempts to cause bodily injury to a teaching staff member, school board member, or another school employee
Attempt (by physical menace) to put any law enforcement officers, agents, or employees in fear of imminent serious bodily injury while in the performance of their duty
Use tear gas or another or noxious substance or an electric or electronic incapacitation device against any officer or employee who is acting in the scope of their employment
Intentionally cause or attempt to cause bodily injury to a child less than six years of age
Intentionally cause or attempt to cause serious bodily injury to a child less than 13 years of age
Depending on the surrounding circumstances, aggravated assault may be charged as a first-degree felony or second-degree felony, which carry the following penalties:
First-degree aggravated assault: Punishable by 10 to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000
Second-degree aggravated assault: Punishable by five to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000
HIRE A KNOWLEDGEABLE ATTORNEY
Defending yourself against your assault charges could easily increase your risk of being convicted and receiving the maximum punishment. When facing assault allegations, it is imperative that you hire a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney to protect your rights and explore your possible legal defenses.
At Marc V. Taiani, Esquire and Allegheny Attorneys at Law, P.C., I've dedicated my career to handling a wide range of legal matters, including assault. As your attorney, I will review the details of your situation, conduct a thorough investigation, and decide the most effective defense strategy to maximize your chances of reaching a favorable resolution to your case.
Using my extensive experience, I will help you navigate the Pennsylvania criminal justice system. I will fight aggressively to protect your rights and ensure that you receive fair treatment.
ASSAULT ATTORNEY SERVING PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA
If you are facing assault charges, reach out for help. Call my firm — Marc V. Taiani, Esquire and Allegheny Attorneys At Law, P.C. — today to schedule a free consultation. I can offer you the legal counsel and representation you need. My firm serves clients across Pittsburgh, Fox Chapel, Ross Township, Aspinwall, Shaler Township, and Penn Hills, Pennsylvania.